Am I doing this wrong?

Rocky ridges

I wanted to see some alpine flowers, so went to where they are already in bloom. Confusingly, I had to go down in elevation to see alpine flowers, on a rocky ridge with the right conditions. Missed some of them because they were in flower when the last snow came, a couple weeks ago. Still a jaw-dropping display. Was hoping for some bitterroot, but alas, none to be found. Did see some Oenothera, which, like Bitterroot, grows in patches of rock that seem utterly incapable of supporting such a delicate, un-cactus-like flower.

Saw a little bear scat, which reminded me that I haven’t put my summer things into my pack yet, including the bear spray.. Still have some ski wax in there, though. Since it is now officially summer, I guess I’ll have to dig out the summer stuff. While it hasn’t been hot in my area yet, it won’t be long.

Discover more from Buffalo Girl Arts

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading